NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars


The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) is the central civilian agency that directs the United States space program. NASA began its operation on October 1, 1958, as a result of the National Aeronautics and Space Act of 1958. Although NASA activities are integrated with other scientific and technological efforts, the Agency is an independent organization with the primary mission of the peaceful exploration of space for the benefit of all humankind.

NASA Centers

Our NASA headquarters is located in Washington, DC. Over 22,000 employees work at Headquarters and the ten field centers listed below:

Ames Research Center Moffett Field, California
Armstrong Flight Research Center Edwards, California
George C. Marshall Space Flight Center Huntsville, Alabama
Glenn Research Center Cleveland, Ohio
Goddard Space Flight Center Greenbelt, Maryland
Jet Propulsion Laboratory Pasadena, California
John F. Kennedy Space Center KSC, Florida
Langley Research Center Hampton, Virginia
Lyndon B. Johnson Space Center Houston, Texas
John C. Stennis Space Center Stennis, Mississippi